San Francisco: The Ferry Building

After a traffic-filled six hour drive with only cows as scenery, I was more than happy to finally get to the hotel and binge watch Masterchef Juniors until I succumbed to sleep. On a quick tangent, the kids on that show are so freaking talented its ridiculous, I mean really guys, can any eight year olds you know make their own pasta, let alone use the stove without setting something on fire? But that’s besides the point.IMG_3781

The Ferry Building. The Ferry Building. Farmer’s market on the outside, marketplace and artisan shopping on the inside. What more can a food lover ask for? The produce was so fresh, and the stalls were filled with interesting varieties of seasonal fruits and veggies, priced reasonably and available for you to sample before you purchase. There were also nuts, preserves, a small macaron stand, and fresh flowers. The outside market is only open until around two, so if you’re ever nearby I suggest heading over before it closes for the day.

IMG_3791 IMG_3822 IMG_3824

Inside, there are tons of small artisan shops selling everything ranging from olive oil to pottery to homemade biscuits. We had lunch at Delica, a small Japanese place that has a sort of deli-like vibe to it. They offer bento combos whose offerings are displayed before in cases, as well as rolls and a la carte items. I had the bento with a chicken tofu patty topped with hijiki, green bean salad with sesame dressing, and rice. My brother also had a bento with tonkatsu, green bean salad, and rice. My dad had soba noodle soup (which was hot?!) with kakiage and crab croquette. We all agreed that the food was just satisfactory, decent but not good enough for a second visit.

IMG_3789 IMG_3786 IMG_3783

After lunch, we walked around a bit more when I spotted the main reasons why I dragged my family there in the first place: Humphry Slocombe and Miette Patisserie. While my brother and parents stood in line at Humphry’s, which was probably the busiest store in the hall, I grabbed some goodies from Miette. The cupcake, sadly, was devoured before photographed (grrr.), but I did grab some shots of the macarons before they disappeared as well. I got pistachio, raspberry, and rose geranium, raspberry being my favorite of the trio. I got the rose to be adventurous, thinking that maybe I’d finally become sophisticated enough for floral flavors, but I was mistaken. However, I still thoroughly enjoyed everything I got. As for Humphry Slocombe, it was all eaten before photographed as well, nevertheless I still recommend their Tahitian vanilla. Classic flavors are timeless.  IMG_3795IMG_3799IMG_3850

After some more strolling, we realized just how hot and stuffy it was getting in the building, so we stopped for another round of frozen goodness, this time Straus Creamery frozen yogurt from Gott’s Roadside. Nothing extraordinary, but solid enough to battle the heat.

IMG_3808 IMG_3816 And that concludes my food trip at the Ferry Building! I loved every part of San Francisco to bits, and I honestly can’t wait to go back. Also, with the school year coming right around the corner (yikes.), I’ve decided to do a little back-to-school series, so keep your eyes out for that as well!

Speak now or forever hold your peace

