Monthly Favorites: June 2014

1. The Fault in Our Stars Soundtrack

TFIOS

photo courtesy of Google Images

The book’s pretty good, the movie was alright, but the soundtrack? The soundtrack is pure musical gold. Okay, maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, but it’s honestly such a well made soundtrack, featuring some great voices such as Ed Sheeran, Birdy, and Grouplove. Click the link and take a listen!

2. Lavender Hair

lavendar hair

photo courtesy of Pinterest

One day, when I have the guts(and when I’m out of my parents house) I’m going to dye my hair, and it’s going to be this color. It’s such a whimsical, playful look and I’m absolutely in love with it. Pastel colored hair is only socially acceptable for so long, but until I’m free to do as I please, I’ll just have to live with dreaming about it.

3. Strawberry-Rhubarb

strawberry rubarb

photo courtesy of zoebakes

I know, I know. I’m late on the flavor bandwagon, don’t castrate me. I’ve always been skeptical because I hate rhubarb on its own, but I finally gave in when I had a macaroon at Bouchon and have been converted since. The flavors are lovely complements and I can’t wait to start trying them out in my own baking!

4. Maxi Dresses

vhudgens maxi

photo courtesy of Reveal

The easiest way to get a girly look without the fuss of wearing a skirt (i.e holding your skirt down in the wind to spare yourself from a Marilyn Monroe moment). Maxis are comfy and can just as easily be dressed up as they can be worn casually. A definite staple in anyone’s summer closet.

5. Summer ClichesIMG_2884

photo taken by me

Bonfires, overnight camps, beach days, BBQ, daytrips, the list goes on and on. But I just love all of it. I think they completely capture the essence of summer, and I can shamelessly say I’ve participated in almost all of them.

Speak now or forever hold your peace

