acai bowl

I just got home from my three week camp at Stanford, and as much as I’ve missed my bed, I’m really really missing camp. I’ve never met a group of people I’ve clicked with so quickly, and I’ve created some great bonds with my housemates over the past 21 days. Everyone was so kind and so genuine, it was amazing to be with a group of people with whom I could have a heated debate over world issues as easily as I could have a gossip session. I learned so much from everyone, in and out of the classroom, and I’m truly going to cherish every moment we spent together. IMG_3200

To the POD 3.0 (of you ever read this), if I could go back and do camp over again, I wouldn’t have changed a single thing. You guys are honestly an awesome group of people and I’m so blessed to have gotten the chance to be with your company for the past three weeks. Sam, your wit and general cynicism towards the world is already missed. Zita, you are truly a pacifist hipster (in the best way) and as hard as it is to believe you’re younger than me, I hope you sophomore year treats you well. G-Nat, my personality twin and real-life Bambi, I’m going to miss our morning runs and my partner in being awkwardly not as social. Sashel, my abusive husband/shower stalker, I wish you the best of luck this coming senior year and I know that your intelligence and sincerity will take you great places. Sashay, I’ve never met a more hardworking person than you and I hope you don’t get too stressed out over college and just remind yourself that life has great things in store for great people like you. Watcher, my Texas-grown girl, I hope your passion and energy for life never burns out and that I’ll find an excuse to go to Houston soon so I can see you again.IMG_3213IMG_3214IMG_3215IMG_3216

To my fellow Narnians, sadly, as we all know, nothing gold can stay, but remember by friends, although our time together has ended, our friendships have not. It’s really only the beginning. Distance will only make our love fonder and our interactions more special. I wish you all the best in your endeavors, and know that I would do anything to cross paths with you all again. I love you guys and genuinely thank you for making these past twenty one days the experience of a lifetime.

To get back into the swing of things at home, I made myself the most SoCal food I could think of, acai bowls! Healthy and cold, they keep you going and help you beat the heat at the same time. They work great as breakfast, but can serve as a snack, dessert, or other meal as well. Enjoy!

ACAI BOWLS   

serves 2

1 packet frozen acai

2 bananas

1 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1 cup frozen strawberries

a splash of cashew milk

granola

fruit to top (strawberries, blueberries, etc.)

shredded coconut

agave nectar

1. Blend acai, one banana, frozen fruit, and cashew milk in blender until a smooth and thick consistency is reached. It should be thicker than a smoothie. I use a VitaMix, which has a tamper to make it easier to get this consistency.

2. Split the base into two bowls and top with granola, sliced banana, fruit, shredded coconut, and agave nectar. Enjoy cold!

NOTE:

– If your blender won’t let you get the right consistency, skip the toppings and add more liquid to make a juice or smoothie instead. Same nutrients, different format.

– I found frozen acai at Sprouts, I do not know of other places that carry it.

Speak now or forever hold your peace

