Monthly Favorites: May 2014

Filled with cram sessions and summer teases, a lot went on in the month of May. Let’s do a quick little recap of all the great stuff that came my way this month! And I know this is late (again), but I was on the East Coast for the past week, so I really didn’t have time to post. On another note, keep your eyes peeled for a East Coast food post because its coming!

 

1. Music Favorites

Partition – Beyonce

Crazy in Love (Kid Koala version) – Emile Sande

A Little Party Never Killed Nobody – Fergie

I Choose You – Sara Bareilles

These songs got me through the long nights before exams, keeping me up and reminding me that once I got finals out of the way, I’d have three months of nothing but fun ahead of me.

 

2. Momofuku Milk Bar Cookbookmilk-bar400x290

Yes. Yes. Yes. Need I say more? My friend gifted me with the book for my birthday, and basically made my day (and possibly my month). I’ve been absolutely obsessed with Momofuku and Christina Tosi for the longest time, and I cannot wait to start cooking through the book. The photos are stunning, and the recipe all sound delectable! I’m going to have a tough time deciding which one to make first.

 

3. Frozen Mangoesfrozzen mango

I love mangoes in general, but with all the hot weather that went on during the month, I found myself digging through the freezer for these more and more often. Blended in smoothies, used in salsa, or just eaten plain, frozen mangoes are such a versatile ingredient and they were one of my favorite things to snack on when I was craving something cold and sweet.

 

4. Humans of New York (HONY)HONY

In attempts to document the personality of New Yorkers, Brandon Stanton went all around the city photographing people and asking them questions about their life and then posted the images alongside snippets of their stories on his blog. His popularity has grown exponentially since he first started, and his blog has now expanded to several other social media outlets as well as two books. I picked his first book to read on my flight to New York, and it was really interesting. I ended up not sleeping at all on the flight, choosing instead to finish the entire book in one sitting.

Speak now or forever hold your peace

