Bread Quiche

Happy Memorial Day folks! Hope your long weekend is filled with tons of BBQ and the first taste of summer. For those of you who don’t know, I am a most definitely a breakfast person. I love pretty much all breakfast food, from dutch babies to omelets, and I can never relate to people who always skimp out on breakfast, claiming that they refuse to  eat “that early in the morning”. Personally, I can’t think of anything better than rolling out of bed and having a piping hot pile of eggs and carbs waiting for you. But maybe that’s just me. It’s by far my favorite meal of the day, and it gives me that much needed kickstart to get my day going. Bread Quiche

My mom wanted to test out this recipe before she took it to her Bible study luncheon, so I made it over the weekend, and I AM IN LOVE. It strays from the traditional quiche since it lacks a crust, but do not fret my fellow-carb lovers, the bread is IN the quiche itself. It tastes great, and its really easy too! You literally just chop everything up, pour it into a baking pan, and throw it in the oven. It’s a low-maintainence dish, perfect for busier mornings. I highly suggest adding some variety to your morning meals with this quiche, you’ll thank me later.Bread Quiche

 

BREAD QUICHE:

4 cups of whole wheat bread, cubed (please do not use sandwich bread, please. I used a whole grain loaf bread from La Brea Bakery.)

4 eggs, completely whisked together

1/2 of a large tomato, chopped

1/2 of a onion, sauteed

1 1/2 cup of spinach

4 pieces of thickly sliced turkey, chopped

4 ounces of feta cheese, crumbled

1 tablespoon butter

1 1/2 cups milk

salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Lightly grease baking pan to prevent sticking. Put bread cubes into the pan

3. Evenly spread tomato, onion, spinach, and turkey on top of the bread. Sprinkle the feta cheese evenly on top.

4. Pour milk into the eggs and mix well.

5. Pour egg mixture into the pan and make sure most of the food in the pan is immersed in the mixture.

6. Place in oven and leave to cook for 45 minutes. Take out to cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

NOTES:

– Spinach can be replaced with cooked broccoli or asparagus

– Feta can be replaced with blue, cheddar, or mozzerella

– Turkey can be switched out for bacon or ham or omitted

 

 

Speak now or forever hold your peace

