Chocolate Egg Cupcakes

Okay, so in complete honesty, this was not the recipe I intended to post. My original idea was to do Cadbury Egg Cupcakes, but of course, all the markets around me weren’t carrying them. Extremely frustrating. But I had all the other ingredients on hand already, so I just grabbed a bag of plain chocolate eggs instead. They literally just ended up being chocolate cupcakes with pretty buttercream and chocolate on top. Sigh…

IMG_1813

I had a three day weekend, and I decided I was going to take some time for myself. With the craziness of school, sports, and the upcoming testing, I’ve been all over the place and haven’t had time to take care of myself. So I decided to stay home rather than go out with friends, turn off my phone, and take the time to the things I usually don’t have the leisure to do.

IMG_1832

It was actually really really nice. I thought I would’ve gotten bored after a couple hours, but there was just so many things I realized I wanted to do. I painted my toenails, went on a run, got my eyebrows done, made cupcakes, made biscotti, listened to new music, and caught up with all the food blogs I follow. I haven’t been this productive in quite a while, and it was so refreshing to just do what I wanted to do. It was a good recharge for the old batteries, and now I’m confident that I’ll be able to face the week coming up! Happy Easter to all of you that celebrate it, and enjoy the cupcakes! They’re super easy to whip up, and they’ll be a crowd pleaser for sure!

IMG_1829

 (P.S Excuse my inability to frost cupcakes, its been a while..)

CHOCOLATE EGG CUPCAKES

24 dark chocolate cupcakes (box mix or homemade, its your call)

1 package of chocolate eggs

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING:

4 ounces unsalted butter, softened

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Bake chocolate cupcakes and allow to cool.

2. Beat together cream cheese and butter with a hand mixer. Then add powdered sugar one cup at a time until smooth and creamy. Beat in vanilla extract. Add food coloring if desired.

3. Frost cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, and top with chocolate egg!

 

 

 

Speak now or forever hold your peace

