Monthly Favorites: March 2014

We’ve decided to add a dash of personal posts into our recipe-filled blog, starting with these monthly lists of favorites. I’ve seen this done mostly on fashion/beauty/DIY YouTube channels, but I thought it’d be a super fun way for you guys to get to know us a little better and for us to share some of our very favorite things with you! BECAUSE WE JUST LOVE YOU GUYS THAT MUCH 🙂 Our favorites could be books, clothes, foods, restaurants, blogs, or pretty much anything else we’ve been into during the month. Hopefully it’ll create some common ground between us and you guys (our lovely readers), or introduce you guys to some great you stuff that you’ll love just as much as we do. So here are our favorites for the lovely month of March!

CHRISTINE:

1.Herschel Supply Co. LIttle America Mid-Volume Backpacklittle america

 

photo via Royalcheese

It was about time for me to get a new backpack this month, and so I began doing some searching online for the perfect pack. I was looking for something both stylish and durable, and after much debate between the Little America and the Classic, I went with the Little America. And all I can say is that it has not disappointed me in anyway! Since I got the Mid-Volume version, it is slightly smaller than the original, but it still fits everything I need for school and looks super cute at the same time! The cinch opening does is a bit of a hassle at some times, but hey, everything good has a price, right?

2. Nike Flyknit Trainer+Nike Flyknit Trainer Nike Flyknit Trainer | Squadron Blue & Blue Glow

 photo via eukicks

I have a rather large obsession with shoes, I probably have one too many pairs for my own good to be completely honest. But I’ve had my eyes on a pair of Flyknits for a while now, and when I saw they were on sale at Roadrunners, I made the splurge and copped a pair. I really can’t resist a good deal… They’re light, comfortable, and perfect casual wear athletic shoes. I’ve gotten so many compliments on these shoes, it’s ridiculous. But at full price, they’re definitely a bit of a splurge (150 dollars, yikes!)

3. Joe’s Italian Icejoelatti

photo via Phoenix NewTimes

 I finally got the chance to try Joe’s out, and I have to say it lives up to the hype! When I visited during the night, the line was around the corner and the place was bustling, but it definitely not as busy during the afternoon. Their most popular item is the Joelatti, which is Philadelphia-style Italian ice layered with vanilla soft serve. Sounds weird, but tastes so so good. I’ve had the pomegranate, pineapple, and strawberry Joelatti, all of which are flavors that I would totally recommend. However, they change their flavor menu daily, so there’s always a new flavor to try. And if you are one of those indecisive people (me), do not fear! They offer samples!

4.Cannella Vita

Erica’s blog has been a favorite of mine for quite a while now, and it is about time I share her with all of you. Her photography is clean, her recipes mouth-watering, and her posts are always relevant. Since she herself is a junior in high school, I’m always amazed at how she’s able to manage such a great blog and keep up with everything at school. She’s a inspiration of mine, so check her out at: http://www.cannellavita.com/

5. Acai Bowlsacai bowl

 photo via OrganiGrowth

Thick blended acai, banana, strawberry, and blueberry base topped off with granola, agave nectar, and sliced fruit. Full of antioxidants, and pretty darn good too! I was first introduced to acai bowls at Nekter, and boy was I hooked. I made regular trips at least once a week, and after a while of watching the workers blend, I realized it wasn’t that hard. So I stopped by my local Sprouts, picked up a bag of frozen acai, and got blending! My homemade recipe is almost perfect, so keep an eye out for a post in the near future!

6. Pom-pom Trim Shortspineapple shorts

 photo via Pinterest

My entire being is screaming for summer’s arrival, and these shorts just embody the sunny, fun vibe of summer. I just adore the pom-pom trim, it adds a interesting texture to an otherwise pretty plain pair of shorts. I’ve been prowling Etsy and the Internet in general for the perfect pair, but have yet to meet my match. Sigh…

Speak now or forever hold your peace

