Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

As this year is coming to a close, I just wanted it say it’s been a great start for this little blog of ours, and to celebrate it I wanted to find a perfect recipe to celebrate the incoming year. I scrounged the Internet for something that would be appropriate, when I ran across this recipe on Sweet and Crumby. It was perfect.

You might be confused at this point. What do Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies have anything to do with the new year? Quite a lot actually. The chocolate chip cookie is a timeless recipe, one that has stayed basically the same generation after generation, just as a new year is the same thing as all the new years before it. Another 365 days ofopportunity that I will probably fail to fully grasp (again). My days will be spent in the same places with the same people, and I’ll celebrate the same holidays and go out to dinner with my family every weekend just like every year before this one.

However, this chocolate chip cookie isn’t all the same.

these cookies are thick, dense, and delectableJust like the banana adds a new spin onto the classic chocolate chip cookie, there will be new things this year that I am just not aware of yet. Maybe this year, I’ll find a new go-to get together spot other than Old Town, or my family will finally decide totry someplace else other than the same old repertoire for family dinner night. Maybe I’ll finally try Bikram yoga, get back into scrapbooking, dye my hair, and get a decent score on my SAT. Then again, maybe I won’t. I guess I’ll just have to see and find out. (I think my English teacher would have approved of my use of symbolism here.)

Now to the actual point of this post. The cookies. They’re not so much like cookies to be honest, they were more like muffin tops. But still good nonetheless because muffin tops are the best part of the muffin anyways. The nuts added a nice crunch, but the banana flavor was hard to find. I was expecting a really banana-y cookie, but there was only hints of it. But maybe that’s how it was supposed to be, the recipe didn’t specify. But overall, they were really good! I recommend them to be eaten warm and alongside a glass of cold milk. Trust me, it was a match made in heaven.

BANANA CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt

3/4 c. (1 1/2 sticks) softened butter (just barely softened…not mushy)
2/3 c. granulated sugar
1/3 c. packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 t. Vanilla extract
1/2 c. thoroughly mashed bananas
1 c. good quality chocolate chips
Optional: 3/4 c. chopped walnuts

1.  Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Make sure one of the oven racks is in the middle of your oven and either place sheets of parchment paper or Silpats (nonstick rubber mats) on two baking sheets.

2. Mix the flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl with a wire whisk.  In a bowl of a stand mixe

r, cream together butter and sugars.  Add one egg at a time, beating in between each one.  Scrape down the bowl.

3. Add the vanilla and cream together on medium until everything is incorporated.

4. Add the dry ingredients and cream together again on medium.  Mix in your chocolate chips and walnuts (optional). (NOTE: I used pecan bits instead, and it turned out fine.)

5. Drop small ice cream scoop fulls of dough onto the cookie sheets.  I usually do three across and four down.  Bake for 12-14 minutes or until the cookies are lightly golden and soft, but not mushy to the touch. Let cool and store in an airtight container.  (NOTE: These cookies are going to be on the larger side.)

Find the original recipe here

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read this post! Angie and I appreciate you guys so much, please feel free to leave any feedback or questions below. We’d love to hear from you! Hopefully your New Year’s Eve is filled with celebration, party, and ends with a midnight kiss.

Happy New Year’s!

Speak now or forever hold your peace

